Chimerica by Anita Felicelli

Chimerica by Anita Felicelli Enter for a chance to win one of ten ARCs of CHIMERICA. Down-and-out trial lawyer Maya Ramesh fights to save a painted lemur come to life, and becomes a champion for them both. In magical realist tradition, Anita Felicelli's satiric novel, CHIMERICA, examines the inherent absurdities that drive systems of culture, power, and law. Fans of Marquez, Kelly Link, and Helen Oyeyemi will find CHIMERICA a spirited investigation of the ways in which art is codified and commodified--a contemporary philosophical novel about art, originality, and American culture.

"Felicelli's remarkable CHIMERICA is a coolly surrealist legal thriller--in turns sly, absurd, emotionally vivid, and satirically incisive--that shifts the reader into a world just adjacent to our own."--Jonathan Lethem

I Know Everything by Matthew Farrell

I Know Everything by Matthew Farrell A psychiatrist grapples with his own sanity as murder evidence mounts against him.

Police investigator Susan Adler is ready to close the book on a deadly car accident, but after the medical examiner discovers evidence of foul play, she knows she has a murder on her hands. The victim was the wealthy wife of Randall Brock, a renowned psychiatrist who treats patients with disturbing, brutal fantasies. And just like that, Susan’s got a suspect.

Randall has a violent past but knows he didn’t kill his wife. In the midst of his crushing grief, Randall receives a visit from a stranger with information to share about his wife’s death. But there’s a catch: in exchange for the stranger’s information, Randall must reveal dark secrets he’s kept hidden for years. As this shady figure applies more pressure and Susan closes in, Randall begins to doubt himself, clinging desperately to the pieces of his sanity.

Revelations and suspicious coincidences send shock waves through the investigation, and circumstances spin out of control. Susan must race to put it all together before it’s too late—before the next murder strikes too close to home.

More Than One Truth by Matt Benson

More Than One Truth by Matt  Benson A unique take on the legal thriller, this book blends elements of psychological suspense and covers dark themes. Designed to be a quick, breezy, suspenseful read, the book has been enjoyed by enough readers that I'd like to reach a broader audience. I hope you enjoy!

SHORT:
The story of an idealistic young attorney who must defend a childhood acquaintance from murder while receiving guidance from his mentor's ghost.

LONG:
After a series of personal tragedies, a young attorney returns home and takes a job with a charismatic criminal defense attorney known for reckless behavior. After yet another tragedy strikes and John dies, the attorney must take on his first murder case alone. His client is Scotty Watts, a former high classmate and sports superstar turned jail bird. Scotty professes his innocence and remembers nothing about the night in question other than waking up in a pool of blood to sheriff's deputies pounding on his door.

Despite a mountain of evidence pointing to Scotty's guilt, the narrator works earnestly to exonerate him. But while he investigates the case, it becomes harder and harder to separate fact from fiction, and his mind starts to unravel. Filled with conspiracy theories, twists, turns, and eleventh-hour evidentiary discoveries, More Than One Truth leads to a climax that shocks to the core.

Themes include: the difficulty of returning home, shattered idealism, and the pernicious effect of loneliness.

Good luck!

They Could Have Named Her Anything by Stephanie Jimenez

They Could Have Named Her Anything by Stephanie Jimenez Racism, class, and betrayal collide in this poignant debut novel about restoring the broken bonds of family and friendship.

Every morning, seventeen-year-old Maria Anís Rosario takes the subway an hour from her boisterous and close-knit family in Queens to her private high school on the Upper East Side, where she struggles to fit in as one of the only Latina students—until Rocky welcomes her into this new life. White, rebellious, and ignored by her wealthy parents, Rocky uses her money toward one goal: to get away with anything. To Maria, it’s a dazzling privilege.

As a bond develops between these unlikely friends, neither can see what they share most—jealousy and the desire for each other’s lives. But crackling under the surface of their seemingly supportive alliance, the girls begin to commit little betrayals as they strive to get closer to their ideals regardless of the consequences.

Told from the perspectives of Maria, Rocky, and their fathers, They Could Have Named Her Anything explores the heartfelt expectation of what it means to live up to the name you’ve been given and the more rewarding discovery of what really matters.

A Fire Sparkling by Julianne MacLean

A Fire Sparkling by Julianne MacLean From the USA Today bestselling author of A Curve in the Road comes a spellbinding novel about one woman’s love, loss, and courage during wartime.

After a crushing betrayal by the man she loves, Gillian Gibbons flees to her family home for a much-needed escape, but when she finds an old photograph of her grandmother in the arms of a Nazi officer, Gillian’s life gets even more complicated. Rattled by the discovery, Gillian attempts to unravel the truth behind the photos, setting her off on an epic journey through the past…

1939. England is on the brink of war as Vivian Hughes falls in love with a handsome British official, but when bombs begin to fall and Vivian’s happy life is destroyed in the blitz, she will do whatever it takes to protect those she loves…

As Gillian learns more about her grandmother’s past, the old photo begins to make more sense. But for every question answered, a new one takes its place. Faced with a truth that is not at all what she expected, Gillian attempts to shine a light not only on the mysteries of her family’s past but also on her own future.

A Violet Fire by Kelsey Quick

A Violet Fire by Kelsey Quick Enter to win 1 of 25 signed copies of A Violet Fire, months before its release!

"A vampire tale with a heady mix of defiance and doubt, rebellion and romance." — Kirkus Reviews

In the Vampire Stratocracy of Cain, human blood is scarce. For centuries, councils have sought to assuage the blood shortage by enslaving and breeding humans, turning them into profitable supply units for the rich and the abled.

Today, eighteen-year-old Wavorly Sterling is officially a supply unit, bound to serve her blood willingly to her master for the rest of her life. One of only few humans that was not bred in Cain, Wavorly knows freedom better than anyone, and she is determined to escape the clutches of her oppressors, even if by the hands of death.

But surprises lay beyond every certainty, and within every doubt. Where Wavorly's hatred for both vampires and her enslavement once flowed free as blood, it merely trickles as she grows to admire her reserved, yet receptive master and savior, Anton Zein.

However, danger lurks in the castle, and a prophecy calls from beyond the walls of a lavender gate—concealing the horrific secrets lodged between handsome smirks and cinereous eyes. It will take everything within Wavorly to face her fears and her doubts; to harness the truth of her past despite what that means for her future. The only question is, will she?

Championed as this decade's fresh twist on vampires, A Violet Fire is sure to surprise you.

Lowcountry Boomerang by Susan M. Boyer

Lowcountry Boomerang by Susan M. Boyer *** Signed Copies *** Private investigators Liz Talbot and Nate Andrews are all set to enjoy some quality time on the beach. That’s until they get the news about Darius. Darius DeAndre Baker, star of the hit TV show, Main Street USA, has had enough of the Hollywood highlife. After ten years of visiting everyone else’s hometown, he returns to his own—Stella Maris, South Carolina.

But the moving trucks have barely unloaded when Trina Lynn Causby, Darius’s high school girlfriend, turns up dead, and the entire town reels as Darius is arrested.

Despite the mounting evidence against him, Liz and Nate believe Darius is innocent. They dig through a scandalously long list of suspects, including Darius’s three ex-wives—who have all arrived in Stella Maris—and his love child with Trina Lynn.

But Trina Lynn led a complicated life. She had at least one stalker and two suitors—one with a jealous wife who recently made a deliciously outrageous scene when Trina Lynn turned up at a charity ball.

As the danger mounts, Liz and Nate race to find a killer and clear Darius’s name—and keep him alive.